• social-twitter
  • social-fb
  • social-linkedin
  • social-youtube

Senate tax bill delivers for Greater Minnesota

Below is a press release that was sent to media outlets throughout the state today. A PDF version is available here.

For Immediate Release
April 27, 2015

Contact: Julie Liew

Senate tax bill delivers for Greater Minnesota
Pro-LGA bill comes in stark contrast to House plan

 ST. PAUL—The Minnesota Senate demonstrated a commitment to strengthening Greater Minnesota communities by including a provision in its tax bill that would increase funding for the Local Government Aid (LGA) program.

The Senate tax bill, which was released this morning, increases LGA funding by $45.5 million over two years. This increase would restore funding for the LGA program back to the level it was at in 2002, a benchmark that city leaders in Greater Minnesota say needs to be met in order to adequately fund critical services like police and fire protection, libraries, and street repair and maintenance.

“We are extremely grateful that the Senate is advocating for a funding increase for the LGA program,” said Coalition of Greater Minnesota Cities President and Ely City Councilor Heidi Omerza.

Read more…